The laws in the state of Texas continually change and it is therefore critical to retain an informed, knowledgeable, and aggressive attorney who will enact the very best possible defense on your behalf. Bruce Harris is precisely that lawyer.
Mr. Harris is available to represent clients anywhere in North Texas, including in Arlington, Dallas, Denison, Denton, Fort Worth, Garland, Irving, Mesquite, McKinney, Plano, Richardson, Sherman, and of course, Wichita Falls.
Some important DWI/DUI factsThe State of Texas strictly prohibits operation of any motor vehicle by drivers with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. That 0.08 limit is used across the United States of America as the standard for impairment behind the wheel.
There are decidedly lower limits in Texas for drivers of commercial vehicles (0.04) as well as for beginning drivers under the age of the majority (0.02).
Driving While Impaired laws in Texas also render it unlawful to operate a motor vehicle under the influence of controlled substances like marijuana, cocaine, inhalants, and similar such intoxicants.
How is BAC determined?Blood alcohol concentration is derived by several factors, such as a person's gender, weight, and the time that has elapsed between cocktails.
Although there are reliable charts that can assist in determining your BAC, there are many other factors that cannot be measured. The Law Office of Bruce Harris strongly encourages all citizens of Wichita Falls and the surrounding North Texas area to use a designated driver or call a taxi even in the event you have had a very minimal amount to drink and believe you are okay to get behind the wheel of your car. It is better to play it safe rather than risk your life and the lives of countless others.
DWI and DUI arrests are costly. First-time offenders in Texas can be fined a maximum of $2,000. (Jail time is also a certainty, as a minimum of 72 hours is guaranteed with a maximum of 180 days). Additionally, first-time DWI and DUI offenders will have their driver's license suspended anywhere from three months up to one year.
The penalties become significantly more dire for second- and third-time offenders.
Implied Consent Law in TexasIn the state of Texas, there is something called "implied consent," which means every holder of a driver's license automatically agrees to a chemical test of their blood, breath, or urine to determine BAC or the presence of drugs.
The refusal of any such test will result in forfeiture of your driver's license, resulting in issuance of a temporary driver's license until you appear in court. During that hearing, the test refusal will be used against you in which event the judge likely will suspend your driver's license.
The DWI and DUI laws in Texas can be intricate and complex, therefore it is best to call The Law Office of Bruce Harris for your best possible defense against any drunk driving charges.